Hairdressers

No dessert has hair, so I’ve been enjoying myself recently watching the humans around me being caught in the hairdressing conspiracy. While you might say the conspiracy consists of hairdressing and general beauty parlours making people spend too much money on trying to keep themselves looking the same (as if frozen) when anyone should be able to tell that looks are one thing that are meant to change, I actually mean a different sort of conspiracy.

A human of my acquaintance is in a dilemma regarding her hair. Apparently there are two different people working at the salon she patronises, and she much prefers the haircut that one gives over the other’s. This sounded straightforward enough to me, but hearing the reactions of the humans around my plate, I decided to investigate. It seems that this kind of thing is very common. Many find it too awkward to say straight out that they would like to only make appointments with the person whose cut they prefer, and end up going to great lengths to not appear as if they have a preference, while also trying get the hair they want. Geez was my initial reaction. I thought it more proof that humans fuss too much, but I then tried to imagine how I would feel in that situation. It was a stretch of the imagination – as a custard, the thought of going to a hair salon was like a human’s thought of going to Hogwartz – but I used my visualisation skills. If I liked the way one stylist dusted me with powdered sugar better than I liked the way another did (not that I would ever agree to such a thing in the first place), what would I do? I could see that the tactful dessert in me would cause me to try to avoid being too obvious.

It’s ridiculous, really. You’re paying the salon, and deserve be able to get the best cut, yet it feels like too much of personal insult to deliberately avoid one of the people who works there. I imagine it would be much worse if there were any personal connections, either between the hairdressers or between myself and one of them.

I’m sure some of my human readers will have had experiences involving hairdressers and tact, and will be able to illustrate it properly in their heads, as I was only imagining it for myself.

Sweetness, LC

About Lemon Custard

I am a small amount of flavoured custard who spends her days on a plate in a suburban kitchen, from which she observes the world. I blog my thoughts on life and on people, and also dabble in photography. Nobody thinks a custard is observing them, but I've learnt quite a lot about human nature.
This entry was posted in General observations made by LC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave observational comment :)

