Even desserts misjudge other sweets

Sometimes you can have a totally inaccurate impression of something from the way it is presented. For instance, you might sit down to a meal (that cost an arm and a leg) and see the beautiful centrepiece of seasonal flowers, and the thick linen napkins, and not discover your mistake until the effects of food poisoning hit a few hours later.  Leading people astray with impression is an advertiser’s duty. It can work the other way too – “rubbish!” may be your initial reaction, and yet you soon find impressions had led you astray.

I had an experience like that just recently, and, while I knew it would be hard, I decided to blog about it. It required some human assistance, which was difficult for me to swallow, being a highly-strung flavoured custard, but at least I was able to minimise human involvement.  I can now be known as a writing dessert who also dabbles in photography. It’s now on my “About” page, see? It also means I now have made my own Flickr account, for the purpose of displaying my photos. I suppose I could have written this post without involving photographs, but they help to make my point. Here goes.

Over Christmas (when humans eat like pigs and custards remain civil) a set of chocolates came into the house. Nothing to do with me. However, I was looking at them one day, and judging by the way they were wrapped, I didn’t think they would be very, well, sophisticated sweets. See for yourself. One thinks of the small processed, packaged “cakes” one buys in America. The empty wrappers don’t look all that great either. Obviously, I made an assumption. When I witnessed one being unwrapped, I realised my mistake. These were clearly chocolates of distinction, with great visual elegance. I also heard from humans that they were delicious.

So, to show how wrong I had been, I set up a static scene of elegance and distinction, into which I placed three of the chocolates. As you can see, they fitted in well.  I also took a picture with one the chocolates sliced open at the front – a favourite thing in chocolate adverts.

The ridiculous wrapping of the sweets would never make you think that the real things would fit so well into a sophisticated setting. Custards have an obvious elegance, and one which is quite accurate.

Sweetness, LC

“Assumptions are dangerous things to make, and like all dangerous things to make – bombs, for instance, or strawberry shortcake – if you make even the tiniest mistake you can find yourself in terrible trouble.” – Lemony Snicket, author

About Lemon Custard

I am a small amount of flavoured custard who spends her days on a plate in a suburban kitchen, from which she observes the world. I blog my thoughts on life and on people, and also dabble in photography. Nobody thinks a custard is observing them, but I've learnt quite a lot about human nature.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave observational comment :)

